top of page


In an edition that saw the start delayed by a few hours due to inclement weather, Josef Newgarden once again triumphed at the Indianapolis 500, securing his second consecutive victory and the twentieth for Team Penske. Following last year's success, which he achieved by skillfully taking advantage of a red flag, the champion won the 2024 edition by overtaking Pato O'Ward in an exciting battle that culminated with an incredible outside pass in Turn 3 on the final lap. Despite O'Ward having a fuel consumption advantage, he couldn't maintain the lead.

Newgarden showcased great driving skills, delivering a memorable performance for fans who patiently waited four hours due to a thunderstorm that necessitated track drying. His victory was even more impressive due to a spectacular save a few laps from the end and a decisive pass on the penultimate lap when his rival thought the race was over. Starting from the front row, Newgarden executed an impeccable strategy, maximizing his potential and overcoming a difficult start to the season, marked by the controversy following his disqualification at St. Petersburg.

Pato O'Ward, despite his great potential, had to settle for second place. Scott Dixon completed the podium, thanks to a longer middle stint that brought him to the lead, but an imperfectly balanced car prevented him from maintaining his advantage. Alexander Rossi finished fourth, forced to ease off slightly compared to his rivals, while Alex Palou took fifth place, followed by pole-sitter Scott McLaughlin, who was hampered by a clutch issue.

The Andretti team had a challenging day, with Kyle Kirkwood finishing as their top driver in sixth place despite a penalty. Marcus Ericsson was eliminated on the first lap by a mistake from Tom Blomqvist, while Colton Herta and Marco Andretti ended up in the barriers. Numerous contacts characterized the race, partly due to a less rubbered track and marked aggression. Particularly violent was the crash involving Will Power, while Ryan Hunter-Reay went off-track after contact with Dixon. Engine issues knocked out Marcus Armstrong, Katherine Legge, and Felix Rosenqvist.

Callum Ilott had an impressive comeback, finishing eleventh despite an electrical problem before the start and a collision in the pit lane. Kyle Larson, penalized for speeding into the pits, saw his chances of competing for top positions fade, ending up in eighteenth place. The McLaren team's speed in the final stages showed that Larson could have been a contender for the top spots.


© Cavalieri Garage & Co.


bottom of page